MSU College of Education recognizes outstanding teacher interns

Portraits of the MSU College of Education Spring 2021 Outstanding Teacher Interns in two horizontal rows
The Outstanding Teacher Intern award recognizes MSU College of Education graduates for their work at various public school systems throughout Mississippi during the spring semester. Pictured left to right are (top row) Hailey Brewer of Pontotoc; Sarah Calhoun of Kosciusko; Blair Duvall of Waynesboro; Brittney Harrison of Toomsuba; Kristen Henderson of Bailey; (bottom row) Catherine Hoffer of Meridian; Sara Mazzella of Lawrence; Caitlin Moore of Lacombe, Louisiana; Grace Thompson of New Albany; Michaela Upshaw of Houston; and Cameron Wicker of McComb. (Photos submitted)

Contact: Camille Carskadon

STARKVILLE, Miss.—Eleven Mississippi State University College of Education graduates are being recognized for their spring semester work as outstanding teacher interns.

Nominated by their classroom mentor teachers, the award honorees are selected based on their resourcefulness, initiative and effectiveness. The recipients have demonstrated outstanding teaching performance, professionalism and a high level of commitment to the teaching profession. All completed their senior-year internships at various public school systems throughout Mississippi.

MSU Outstanding Teacher Intern award recipients and their internship schools are (by hometown):

BAILEY—Kristen Henderson, elementary education/middle school major, West Lauderdale Elementary School, Lauderdale County School District.

HOUSTON—Michaela Upshaw, elementary education/middle school major, Eupora Elementary School, Webster County School District.

KOSCIUSKO—Sarah Calhoun, secondary education/English education major, Eupora High School, Webster County School District.

LACOMBE, Louisiana—Caitlin Moore, elementary education/middle school major, Fifth Street School, West Point Consolidated School District.

LAWRENCE—Sara Mazzella, elementary education/middle school major, Union Middle School, Union Public School District.

MCCOMB—Cameron Wicker, elementary education/middle school major, Bogue Chitto School, Lincoln County School District.

MERIDIAN—Catherine Hoffer, elementary education/middle school major, Clarkdale Middle School, Lauderdale County School District.

NEW ALBANY—Grace Thompson, elementary education/middle school major, South Side Elementary School, West Point Consolidated School District.

PONTOTOC—Hailey Brewer, music education major, Pontotoc High School, Pontotoc City School District.

TOOMSUBA—Brittney Harrison, elementary education/middle school major, Southeast Lauderdale Elementary School, Lauderdale County School District.

WAYNESBORO—Blair Duvall, elementary education/middle school major, Quitman Lower Elementary School, Quitman School District.

Established in 1903, MSU’s College of Education is home to six academic departments, one research unit and numerous service units. For more, visit

MSU is Mississippi’s leading university, available online at